2017 Annual Academic Conference

School of Physics and Astronomy

Annual Academic Conference of the School of Physics and Astronomy is a grand occasion for all the School members to exhibit their research achievements, and to promote the academic exchanges and cooperation within the School. Five such conferences had been held since 2010. The 2017 Annual Academic Conference is scheduled on Saturday January 13, 2018. Domestic and foreign well-known physicists and astronomers will be invited to attend the conference, and to offer their suggestions on the development of our School. All the members of the faculty and staff as well as graduate students are required to attend the conference except for some special cases. Those who cannot participate should obtain permission from the organizing committee in advance.

In the first half of the conference, the School dean and directors of secondary units will give summary reports respectively on the development of the School and that of research institutes/centers. In the second half, representatives of the secondary units will give academic reports. Directors of research institutes/centers are in charge of the recommendation of oral talks and screened posters, with lists and abstracts subject to the requested number of the talks and the posters (see appendices), to the organizing committee. Graduate students are encouraged to present their posters. After collecting all the oral talks, the organizing committee will select three 30-minute talks and some 15-minute talks. The top five of posters of graduate students are elected by the committee as the annual commendation of the posters of the graduate students.

The organization of the conference is scheduled as follows:

- The first-round announcement is issued on November 15.
- Research Institutes/Centers submit the recommendation lists of those talks and posters to the organizing committee by November 30.
- A list of the talks and the posters is announced on December 10.
- The second-round announcement is issued on January 06.

The Organizing Committee

Coordinators Jinfeng Jia, Yipeng Jing, Pengjie Zhang, Kadi Zhu

Committee Members: Min Chen, Canhua Liu, Jianglai Liu, Weidong Luo, Guoqiang Xie,

Jianbo Xu, Haijun Yang, Xiaohu Yang, Fangwei Ye, Hepeng Zhang, Xiaoxia Zhong

Conference Secretary: Yang Yang, catherinecherry@sjtu.edu.cn Rongrong Zhang, zhangrr114@sjtu.edu.cn Yuanyuan Chen, yuanyuanchen@sjtu.edu.cn